Peace in the Storm

beauty

Our new deduction card game, Get Adler! almost didn’t get made, as the summer brought an unexpected heart procedure. I was getting strange feelings down my arms on walks and eventually had slight pressure in my chest on further walks. Feeling tired.

My doctor sent me to emergency right away, but after passing the EKG and the blood tests, we thought I was in the clear. Then, later in the day, came the treadmill stress test, which I failed. I was then scheduled for a procedure, and within a month had 2 stents placed in my arteries. Wow. An unexpected life change.

However, I must say that I was never really ‘afraid’. Yes, I had some concerns, and you comfort your loved ones, and think, what if… But, even when I was awake on the table and having the ‘procedure’ (they don’t want to say operation) I was not afraid. In fact, I was meditating on Psalm 23 while they did it. There I was, with my eyes covered with a cloth because of my photophobia (sensitivity to bright lights, which I had since ’98), and all this activity going on, and yet I had almost perfect peace. Only God can do that, I believe. I am a Christian (in case you didn’t know).

The hardest part was the medications over the next weeks and months, as I was rushed to the hospital twice with a sky high heart rate. Again, I wasn’t really afraid. Concerned, yes. Afraid, no.

Only months later, when I started to work on Get Adler! again did I realize that it might not have been made, if I had gone to be with the Lord. I praise and thank Him for each day. He is faithful, and He hears our prayers.

Peace in the midst of the storms of life.

For more info on Get Adler! including the Kickstarter: www.capergames.ca

 

 

 

 

Author: Randall Thompson

Writer. Inventor of card and board games, like Get Adler! Deduction Card Game.

Leave a Reply

